About the Board

Board Member Kenneth PearlKenneth Pearl, President, was elected to the Board to finish out the term of a board member who resigned.  Mr. Pearl, who has been a resident of the school district for 31 years, has three children, two of which graduated from Chippewa Valley Schools. He is an active community volunteer who has served on many boards and commissions. Ken currently serves on the Chippewa Valley Educational Foundation, the Chippewa Valley Coalition for Youth and Families, the Clinton Township Goodfellows, the McLaren Hospital Foundation Board of Directors, the Clinton Township Splash Pad and Inclusive Playground Committees, the Zoning Board of Appeals, and the Heritage Estates Senior Housing Committee.  His professional and past volunteer experience includes: Director of Operations, Residential & Commercial Development/Management; Charter Township of Clinton (Trustee); Chippewa Valley Schools Board of Education (Trustee, Treasurer, and Past President).  Ken currently serves as the Chairperson of the Personnel Sub-Committee, and on the Building & Site Sub-Committee.

Denise AquinoDenise Aquino, Vice President, has served on the Board for more than 24 years. She is married to Rich. Denise has two children, both Dakota graduates. Her daughter works at Wyandot Middle School and her grandchildren attend CVS. Denise has been involved in our District for many years serving on special committees, the Mohawk PTO and the Dakota Boosters. She has been very active with school legislative issues, the need for equitable funding, and district bond proposals.She has seen our district through periods of rapid growth and works to maintain the District's tradition of excellence. She supports school activities and is a familiar face at school events. Local legislators know her as an advocate for children and school funding issues. Denise is Chairperson of the Building & Site, and Operations Sub-Committees and serves on the Technology Sub-Committee.

Shannon King, Board of Ed member 2023Shannon King, Secretary, is a district parent and a human resource professional that specializes in talent acquisition. He is a local entrepreneur.  He believes that every child should feel safe at school and have an equal opportunity for a great education. He would like to see everyone focused on the students and working together to teach them about our world to make a better future. He is active in our school community supporting local school and community events, including the MLK Walk for Unity and the Clinton Township Blood Drive.  Shannon has been appointed to local commissions including the Clinton Township Zoning Board of Appeals and the Housing Commission. He serves as the Chairperson of the Curriculum Sub-Committee, and serves on the Personnel and Operations Sub-Committees.

Bruce Wade, Board of Ed Member 2023Bruce Wade, Treasurer, is a district parent and retired police chief. He spent his 37 ½ year career focused on safety and security and protecting the residents of Clinton Township. He had a part-time career in law enforcement education as an adjunct professor and program director serving local colleges and universities. In addition, he was an instructor for the Oakland Police Academy and is a graduate of the National FBI Academy in Quantico, Virginia. Bruce has a bachelor’s degree from Madonna University and a master’s degree in Criminal Justice from the University of Detroit. He is active in our school community and has lived in the Chippewa Valley School District for over 30 years.  Bruce is Chairperson of the Finance Sub-Committee, and serves on the Curriculum and Operations Sub-Committees.

Christopher Gura, Board member 2023Christopher Gura, Trustee, is a long-time resident of the district and is a 1989 graduate of Chippewa Valley High School.  Holding a Bachelor of Arts from Michigan State University and a law degree from the University of Detroit Mercy School of Law, Chris has been in private practice as a business litigation attorney for over 20 years.  He is also the current president of the Chippewa Valley Educational Foundation (CVEF), where he has worked to bring classroom grants to our teachers and college scholarships to our students. He is an active supporter of fine arts in the district. Chris and his wife, Jessica (also a 1989 Chippewa graduate), have three children, all of whom graduated from Dakota High School.  Chris currently serves on the Finance Sub-Committee, and the Personnel Sub-Committee.

George SobahGeorge Sobah, Trustee, has been a board member for over 22 years. He is retired from law enforcement for the City of St. Clair Shores. He has three daughters and one son. All of his children have attended Chippewa Valley Schools and three have graduated from Chippewa Valley High School. He has been involved in Chippewa Valley through his school PTO as a member and treasurer. He has volunteered his time to many school related projects and organizations. George is a trusted Board member who is always willing to share his knowledge and expertise on issues concerning school safety and security. George is the Chairperson on the Technology Sub-Committee, and serves on the Finance Sub-Committee.

Photo of Board Member Robert WojtowiczRobert Wojtowicz, Trustee.  Robert Wojtowicz is a devoted father to his three children.  As a life-long Macomb County resident, Robert is a strong advocate and supporter of public education and the Chippewa Valley School District. He has generously volunteered his time as a parent volunteer and PTO member for many years in our schools. Robert feels it is a parent’s job to be involved, as much as possible, in their child’s life. Robert is committed to overseeing the education of CVS students, keeping current on emerging educational issues affecting our schools, and supporting the responsible use of taxpayer dollars. He is committed to his role as a board member and will work tirelessly to ensure the success of our school district and our students.  Robert believes that a great K-12 education is the foundation of our school community and our children’s future success.  Robert currently serves on the Building & Site Sub-Committee, as well as the Curriculum and Technology Sub-Committees.