Meet our Olympians!



Exploring the World of Science

Please help us congratulate these great teams who excelled at our recent Elementary tournament.

These teams distinguished themselves as either top-performers, or most improved teams in our recent tournament. Each team competed in 16 separate science events which covered a wide range of disciplines, from geology to chemistry to astronomy, to literally rocket science! They studied, they designed, they built, and they mastered challenging topics in addition to their many other activities and daily classes. These students have demonstrated the discipline and dedication that gives us confidence that we've met some leaders of tomorrow!



1st Place K-5 Division – Washington Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Natalie Bales, Joseph Fletcher, Nathan VanderMeulen, Bridget Fritz, Riley DenUyl, Eryn Collard, Kalista Negin

Back Row (L to R): Johnathan Kerstetter, Brock DenUyl, John Hurtubise, Bret Albright, Kylyn VitoCruz, Ashley Bales, Evelynn Fletcher, Dalton Sargent



3rd Place K-5 Division – Ojibwa Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Brady Miller, Nick Carlson, Mike Carlson, Kyle Plovie Middle Row (L to R): Dev Patel, Anthony Henderson, Luke Zieleniewski, Keegan Burns, Jason Jimenez, Jasmeh Sethi

Back ROw (L to R): Coach Jeannine Moriconi, Helen Buk, Alex Pergjoni, Teah Duron, Kimberly Martin, Olivia Wheeler, Mackenzie Koehn



2nd Place K-5 Division – Cherokee Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Juliana Knoll, Mansi Karia, Duncan Murphy, Carina Maguire,

Middle Row (L to R): Zach Wheeler, Sean Elechicon, Travis Brooks, Sophia Farmer, Jackson Nowicki

Back Row (L to R): Max Chandzel, Clarence Coleman, Zack Ernat, Sam Leflar,



Rising Star K-5 - Miami Elementary

Front row (L to R): Mary Kunnummyalil, Brianna Ptak, Kaydee Heasley, Brandon Mendoza, Cole Fields, Benjamin Ranieri, Aaron Schembri, Joshua Ray Back Row (L to R) Hydee Phleeger, Abigail Fields, Izabella Mileham, Jovana Nagy, Isabella Pluszcynski, Emma Bahm, Jack Carson, Ryan Hosey. Not Pictured: Calvin Balliu; Head Coach - Claudia Gaglio; Principal - Craig Bulgrin

Macomb Science Olympiad is a non-profit, 501(c)(3) organization, dedicated to expanding the science curriculum beyond the classroom, creating a technologically-literate workforce and providing recognition for outstanding achievement by students. Each year, we host two major tournaments for students in Macomb and St. Clair Counties: one for Elementary students, and another for Middle and High School students.

Macomb Science Olympiad provides training and workshops for coaches and students, both directly, and in partnership with many other local organizations. We bring together volunteers from our community to provide an exciting learning environment for these great students. To learn more, or to get involved, visit our website at www.macombso.org.



1st Place K-6 Division – Messmore Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Rohan Patel, Julia Klepko, Aryan Moparti, Anjana Reddy, Megan Alindogan, Siddarth Jalagam, Anay Modiw

2nd Row (L to R): Tejaswi Krishnan, Joey Alamat, Anand Seetharaman, Rohan Aggarwal, Zach Alindogan, Anish Virdi, Aanika Eragam, Vrinda Khullar

3rd Row (L to R): Alexander Shkembi, Ananya Rao

Back Row (L to R): Head Coach Hiten Patel, Principal Patrick Zott



2nd Place K-6 Division – Morgan Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Sophia Witulski, Tatum Beckemeyer, Trevor Haemmerle, Joey Aniel, Kyle Bergler, Jadyn Chyba, Divya Bartley, Isabelle John, Noah Johnson Back Row (L to R): Brendan Dignan, Tyler Farmer, Molly Klein, Head Coach Marc Mirovsky, Richard Smith III, Prestyn Chyba, Raphael Dakaj, Jackie Deinek



3rd Place K-6 Division – Switzer Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Jonsa Rizek, Kaitlyn Pixley, Samantha Upcott, Katie Kotula, Gabriella Champa, Jennifer Upcott, Nathan Bunger, and Mallory Waligora Back Row (L to R): Sofia Hemingway, Tess Nagher, Rory Michalak, Hailey Nichols, Sam LaRocca, Ashley Homann



Rising Star K-6 Division – Duncan Elementary

Front Row (L to R): Nahvi Job, Donny Dimovski, Olivia Markham Middle Row (L to R): Katelynn Fraser, Brecken Rietsch, Garrett Gambaro, Amelia Borchich, Alex Hogan, Anthony Vinson, Louie Klinger Back Row (L to R): David Sienko, Andrew Lang, Jessica Tarja, Madelyn Yarema, Alexander Lewis, Jennifer Hasaj

Macomb Science Olympiad is possible because of the generous financial support of these great organizations:















