CLINTON TOWNSHIP, MACOMB TOWNSHIP

Kiwanis Club awards four local students

By Thomas Franz

Published June 10, 2015

C and G Newspapers



Kiwanis Club scholarship winners display their certificates during a breakfast reception on June 3. From left, Kristen Osaer, Courtney Schwartz, Alexandra Mangus, Maiya Hulin, Allison Parski and Emily DeCeuninck. (Photo by Erin Sanchez)

CLINTON TOWNSHIP — Four students from high schools in the Chippewa Valley Schools district received scholarships from the Clinton Township Kiwanis Club at a club breakfast meeting on June 3.

The students awarded at the event were Alexandra Manus, of International Academy of Macomb, Maiya Hulin, of Chippewa Valley High School; and Kristen Osaer and Courtney Schwartz, both of Dakota High School.

"Our club has given scholarships to high school students for many years," said Kiwanis Club President Randy Payne. "Kiwanis is a global organization of volunteers dedicated to improving the world, one child and one community at a time. As you can see, our main focus is on the children and families of our community."

Osaer and Schwartz were both members of Dakota's Key Club, which is connected with the Kiwanis Club.

"We do a lot of community things. Every year, we do the Relay for Life and parent night. Each month that's a separate topic, whether it's online bullying or drug abuse, to help people get involved," Osaer said while discussing the aim of the Key Club.

Schwartz, who was a four-year member of the Key Club, said the scholarship has made heading off to college less daunting.

"It's great to get some money towards college because it is so expensive, so it makes it less stressful and more exciting," Schwartz said.

Osaer will be attending Michigan State University to study chemical engineering, while Schwartz will study nursing at Oakland University. Mangus plans to study psychology at the University of Michigan, and Hulin will attend Saginaw Valley State University to be a pre-med major.

Five students from the L'Anse Creuse school district were also given scholarships at the event: Allison Parski, Emily DeCeuninck, Ryan T. Lester and Aaron Jarmon, from L'Anse Creuse High School North; and Austin Allen, from L'Anse Creuse High School.

The Kiwanis Club, which was formed in 1973, sponsors four key clubs at local high schools.